top of page

Something to Talk About: TEDx Youth 2018

This year’s annual Tedx Youth Talk showcased student speakers on a range of controversial topics. The speakers took to the stage, sharing their messages in front of a live audience and film recording. Many of the speakers had their own, personal stories to correspond with their topic. One of the speakers, Sophie Wright, a sophomore at MVHS spoke with the Timberwolf Times about her experience .

“I learned about the TED Talk because I saw posters around school and I was intrigued because I saw people setting up for the event last year” says Wright, adding that she, “wanted to join because I really love public speaking and in actuality I wasn’t quite sure what I wanted to speak about when I joined. My topic changed throughout the meetings.”

About the experience itself and how she thought it affected other people, Wright says, “My topic was mental health and how to help others. I chose this because it’s something I’ve personally experienced and gone through and I don’t want others to feel the same way.”

The success of this year’s Tedx event can be partly measured on the large attendance. Nearly the entire auditorium was full. The lobby was also an exciting part of the event, in that attendees could meeting with speakers before and after the presentation to enjoy refreshments and conversation.


bottom of page